Newsletters » Newsletters

Newsletters

Hello parents
 

Dates to keep in mind:

  • Oct 9- Thanksgiving Day (school is closed)
  • Oct 12- PAC meeting at 7:00PM @ USS Band Room
  • Oct 20- Pro D Day (school is closed)
  • Oct 24- School Photo day
 

Orange Shirt Day - hišukʷin hašaḥ (we are all valuable, precious)

As a school we participated in our first Orange Shirt Day on Sep 29th.

We would like to thank Jason Sam, our Nuu-chah-nulth Education worker, and Sarah Hagar, our SD70 First Nations Resource teacher, for taking the lead on organizing t-shirts for the entire staff and for working with students in creating a very meaningful school-wide presentation with the help of Tim Masso and the grade 9 Social Studies class.

A special thanks to Dr. Bernice Touchie for sharing with us and teaching us how to say hišukʷin hašaḥ which can be translated as "we are all valuable, precious". This was the message of the day and the statement written on all our t-shirts.

Thank you to Natalia Nybida and Tim Masso, two USS students, who stood up in front of their peers to share in their own ways why it is important for all of us to learn about and understand the history of the Canadian Residential School system and the impact of this government policy on First Nations.

Thank you to Chris Seitcher for providing support for students and staff during and after the presentation.

It was a day for all of us to spend some time remembering our country's history and hearing messages of hope for the future.

From left to right: Natalia Nybida, Sarah Hagar, Dr. Bernice Touchie, Tim Masso, Jason Sam

Interim Reports

We are at the halfway point of the first term and teachers have been preparing interim reports to be mailed or emailed home next week.

If you have a student in grade 8 you will receive reports from all your child's teachers in one envelope via Canada Post.

If you have a student in grade 9-12 you will only receive reports if there are any concerns with their progress in particular subjects. Most of these will come to you through email.

Teacher email addresses:

Just in case you need to contact one of us directly:


Wade Appenheimer wappenheimer@sd70.bc.ca

Monique Copeland mcopeland@sd70.bc.ca

Alexa Klimke aklimke@sd70.bc.ca

Kathleen Ludy -call the front office for contact at 250-726-7796

Dave McPherson dmcpherson@sd70.bc.ca

Shannon McWhinney smcwhinney@sd70.bc.ca

John Millar jmillar@sd70.bc.ca

Kevin Nixon knixon@sd70.bc.ca

Ellen Perkins eperkins@sd70.bc.ca

Mike Rhodes- Vice-Principal mrhodes@sd70.bc.ca

Carol Sedgwick- Principal csedgwick@sd70.bc.ca

Chris Sylvester csylvester@sd70.bc.ca

Nicole Thompson- Counsellor nthompson@sd70.bc.ca